Ten Years

The clock tells me its just past 1:00 AM. The date is May 3rd, 2011. Almost ten years to the minute, I typed the words: “maybe it’s a good thing that in a world of presumptuous people, irony is alive and well.” The End. 5/3/01 4:44 AM.

It was one of the proudest moments in my life. My baby was born. I floated for days. It was a baby only a ‘mother’ could love. During the course of gestation, well before delivery, I said to a friend, ” I don’t care if it takes ten years to get it right, I’ll take ten years.”

To make a long story short, it took ten years to get it right. In the mean time, I collected rejection notices like baseball cards, never understanding why people didn’t see the masterpiece inside.

I put it down and got to the business of life, which included pulling up stakes in PA and moving to Montana. I set to writing other books. Upon completion of Nightwatching, my latest manuscript (more on that during a later post ) I acknowledged the icon on my desktop that pestered me like an unreachable itch. Somewhere in the back of my mind, I heard my own voice remind me about ten years.

In late February, I began ‘editing’ Cemetery Street. In reality it was a major rewrite. If words were pieces of trash, I would have filled a dump cleaning up my baby. Night after night, in three and four hour blocks;  on rainy and snowy days off, fifteen to eighteen hour chunks, I re-birthed the baby. My wife calls me obsessive,  I don’t know what she is talking about. Then I was done, but can one ever be done editing? At some point, you take a deep breath, call off the dogs and click submit.

I pulled the trigger on the submit button roughly the same time as Seal Team Six pulled theirs on bin-laden. Tonight, it cleared the first hurdle to publication, if all goes right, within two weeks my baby – Cemetery Street – will be delivered to the E-book world. Cross your fingers with me, in hopping the baby has ten fingers and ten toes as it pops up on kindles, nooks and I-phones and pads across the world.

I can’t speak of Bin-laden, but for the proud parent, ten years was worth the wait.

John

PS.  Shameless plug, if you’re want to see a picture of my baby, you can go to Scribd.com and type in John Zunski and read the first three chapters. If you would like to frame the picture, you can purchase it at Smashwords.com.

2 thoughts on “Ten Years”

Leave a Reply

